Password protected cells do not show values

Brutium

Board Regular
Joined
Mar 27, 2009
Messages
188
HELP!!!!!

I have been working on this file since last December. I thought that everything was working fine, but now I realized that whenever I try to bring in values from other sheets within the workbook, these values do not show. I password protected my workbook, and the only means I have to bring in the values is if I unprotect the workbook. I cannot have this since I am afraid my colleagues would be messing up the spreadsheet. What can I do?
I have used VBA!!!

Brutium
 
Last edited:

ChuckDrago

Active Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2007
Messages
460
You might consider creating a macro tied to a "Refresh Data" button. The macro steps would be:
1) Unprotect the worksheet
2) Refresh the linked cells
3) Reprotect the worksheet.
If you fear a third party messing with such a button, you can also password protect its action.
Chuck
 

taigovinda

Well-known Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
2,639
I'm having a hard time understanding exactly what you are trying to do...

What do you mean 'bring in values from other sheets within the workbook' ?

Not sure if it is the solution to your problem or not, but note that when your sheet is unprotected and you select some cells and do right-click, format cells... There is a tab for "protection" and it has checkboxes on it for "locked" and "hidden" ...If you uncheck hidden, then you can see the formulas in the cell. Also when you protect the sheet there is a list of checkboxes for what the user can and cannot do on the sheet. That controls whether or not they can select locked cells...
 

Brutium

Board Regular
Joined
Mar 27, 2009
Messages
188
Thank you for your quick reply.
I am afraid this is not possible. I already have a button that creats worksheets and I do not think another button is feasible. Any other possibility maybe?

What about putting some code in my macro?
 

ChuckDrago

Active Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2007
Messages
460
You can create as many buttons as you wish. As long as you assign each a different macro, there is no restriction to have multiple buttons.
Chuck
 

Brutium

Board Regular
Joined
Mar 27, 2009
Messages
188
Thank you Taigovinda for youor reply.

I am aware of the cell format, but I do not think this solves my problem. I need to protect the whole sheet, and still be able to bring in values from the the other sheets.

Brutium
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,082,139
Messages
5,363,362
Members
400,730
Latest member
cookie123

Some videos you may like

This Week's Hot Topics

  • populate from drop list with multiple tables
    Hi All, i have a drop list that displays data, what i want is when i select one of those from the list to populate text from different tables on...
  • Find list of words from sheet2 in sheet1 before a comma and extract text vba
    Hi Friends, Trying to find the solution on my task. But did not find suitable one to the need. Here is my query and sample file with details...
  • Dynamic Formula entry - VBA code sought
    Hello, really hope one of you experts can help with this - i've spent hours on this and getting no-where. .I have a set of data (more rows than...
  • Listbox Header
    Have a named range called "AccidentsHeader" Within my code I have: [CODE]Private Sub CommandButton1_Click() ListBox1.RowSource =...
  • Complex Heat Map using conditional formatting
    Good day excel world. I have a concern. Below link have a list of countries that carries each country unique data. [URL...
  • Conditional formatting
    Hi good morning, hope you can help me please, I have cells P4:P54 and if this cell is equal to 1 then i want row O to say "Fully Utilised" and to...
Top