populate from drop list with multiple tables

price83

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2020
Messages
25
Office Version
2016
Platform
Windows, MacOS
Hi All,

i have a drop list that displays data, what i want is when i select one of those from the list to populate text from different tables on another sheet that relate to the selected drop... is this possible?
 

ajetrumpet

Banned for being rude
Joined
Apr 12, 2008
Messages
569
Office Version
365, 2016, 2007
Platform
Windows
it sounds like what you want to do would be something done in ms access instead. what kind of dropdown is it? active X control? an embedded combo on a user form?
 

price83

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2020
Messages
25
Office Version
2016
Platform
Windows, MacOS
so i have a few rows i.e company1, company2, company3 etc they populate the drop list

when i select one of them i would like to display in the column next to it a range of text stored on another sheet for that company, so for company one there may be 3 rows of text in a table that need to be displayed when i select company 1
 

LlebKcir

Board Regular
Joined
Oct 8, 2018
Messages
182
User form can do that without the need of Access database. Build your lists in table form and call them via the table header, or table name.
 

ajetrumpet

Banned for being rude
Joined
Apr 12, 2008
Messages
569
Office Version
365, 2016, 2007
Platform
Windows
so i have a few rows i.e company1, company2, company3 etc they populate the drop list

when i select one of them i would like to display in the column next to it a range of text stored on another sheet for that company, so for company one there may be 3 rows of text in a table that need to be displayed when i select company 1
like I said, there are different types of dropdown objects. it sounds like yours in a dropdown that's actually IN the cell. if that's what it is, I don't think you can do what you want. dropdowns that are on userforms for instance, can get their data from statements and stuff, but not for ones directly in cells i don't think. might want to look into what Lieb said too.
 

price83

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2020
Messages
25
Office Version
2016
Platform
Windows, MacOS
User form can do that without the need of Access database. Build your lists in table form and call them via the table header, or table name.
how would you advise to call them, sorry my knowledge isn't great with this
 

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
33,573
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Perfectly possible, probably using index/aggregate formulae, but without further information difficult to say for sure.
Can you post some sample data using the XL2BB add-in showing the table you want to pull the info from? Along with a sample of what the output should look like.
 

price83

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2020
Messages
25
Office Version
2016
Platform
Windows, MacOS
this is the table with what should be showin the the following collumn when a company is selected

Book1
C
5Comment on overall experience
6Great environment & people
7Enjoy working with multipe customers across site
8Variety of work but can be frustrating
RAW_Data
 

price83

New Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2020
Messages
25
Office Version
2016
Platform
Windows, MacOS
and for output (site header being the company)

Book1
BE
1SiteComment on overall experience
2
3Multiple
Data
 

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
33,573
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
How do you know which rows to pull the data from?
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,085,153
Messages
5,382,017
Members
401,766
Latest member
uyedaj

Some videos you may like

This Week's Hot Topics

Top