Power Query Import error - Data in moving columns due to blanks

RooBoyAust

Hi Team,

I have been using power query for a few months & this week it decided to corrupt on some new reports, moving data across columns due to blanks in some fields. Originally this was not an issue, but not i cannot find how to set the Null before importing & am exhausted for ideas.

Appreciate any input on this.

Drew

Excel Facts

Links? Where??
If Excel says you have links but you can't find them, go to Formulas, Name Manager. Look for old links to dead workbooks & delete.
I don't understand what are you tryin' to do but...

Null = blank
0 = 0
"" = empty string

all above isn't the same

Upvote 0
Hi Sandy, Apologies.

The data has blank fields, which I would say is Null for sure.

The data comes from a csv string from a web-based maintenance system we use. So often there are fields with no data, which have caused some to migrate across, causing data to corrupt.

Being csv format, i guess it may have an issue distinguishing the fields. But I dont understand why it happened, aside from the latest 365 update this week possibly causing a change.

Upvote 0
Without example I can't say too much.
So after load csv to PQ, check data format of columns and if there are numbers use Replace Values from null to 0. (probably)
CSV is text file so if PQ doesn't convert format automatically - do that manually
Format of columns = Any is not a good idea :)

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Dead right! Hard part is, I cannot set the data types before the import, therefore the data is corrupt before I can change it.

I appreciate its difficult without an example, but as usual its sensitive info, so best i don't use it publicly.

Upvote 0
After import to PQ, probably you see on the right side (steps):
  • Source
  • Changed Type
so remove/delete second step and try set type of data manually
Columns should have proper format (not mixed). It's up to you which is text and which is a number