Power Query Parameters

sricc

Hello! I am relatively new to Power Query. I have loaded a SQL Server query into Power Query so it can be used by others. The query will return payroll deduction data for union dues. In order to use it, I must go into the source code to edit the 1) Invoice Date and 2) Deduction Code in the WHERE statement. The results are returned to a table within the workbook. Since I will not be the end user and I do not want anyone messing with the WHERE statement, I want to use a cell in the workbook where the user can enter the Invoice Date and a Data Validation List cell where the Deduction Code can be selected. Both fields would act as parameters for the query.

I have tried to google this procedure but can't get exactly what I want to make it work. Any help or direction will be greatly appreciated.

Sam Ricca

Excel Facts

Whats the difference between CONCAT and CONCATENATE?
The newer CONCAT function can reference a range of cells. =CONCATENATE(A1,A2,A3,A4,A5) becomes =CONCAT(A1:A5)
here is a primer on parameter queries by our own MrE

I'm not sure i can apply this to my situation. My source is a SQL query and not an Excel workbook. I am attaching my query that has 2 conditions. This query is loaded into Power Query and works perfectly to return data into an Excel table, however I must edit the code in Power Query to change the Deduction code and the Invoice date. I want to set parameters in cells in the workbook for those conditions to eliminate the need to edit them in power query. Your advice will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Sam

Attachments

• Union dues backup.jpg
    Union dues backup.jpg
    210.3 KB · Views: 24
Upvote 0