Powerpivots and calculation fields

Keith_Excel

I'm very new to Powerpivots and have never really used calculated fields in pivot tables before.

I've just started in a new job and they use pivot tables alot. We've got a new reporting tool which uses PowerPivots and it's very impressive and much quicker than our old reporting tool. However, in our old reporting tool we had a cost & margin analysis, which included fields which worked out the percentage material cost of revenue and the gross margin percntage. I've searched the internet and these forums pages and haven't come up with a solution yet. Either the information hasn't been relevent or the process seem far to complex for something that I would assume would be relatively simple.

The range of the pivot can expland massively from looking at each overseas site location to expanding out over 30,000 different product types. So having a calculation outside the pivot table isn't an option. Please could someone talk me through how to add a column into my pivot table that will work out these margins?

Many thanks Keith

Excel Facts

Spell Check in Excel
Press F7 to start spell check in Excel. Be careful, by default, Excel does not check Capitalized Werds (whoops)
Hi Keith,

I found that the information you’re asking for is difficult for someone to just walk you through here on the board, it just takes a little too much time to explain. I was in your shoes about 2 months ago, and while there are tons a references on how to do DAX formulas, you'll find that you are missing some fundamental piece that are intuitive to the person explaining the process, but will keep you spinning your wheels as you try to duplicate the process.