Question on creating a macro for repeat cell text

ExcelNewbieMacros

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I am going to do my best to describe my question. Don't kill me as I am new to Excel lingo. I have attached a photo to better help me describe my question.

Here is my Excel spreadsheet that I use and the categories I created. The description is always what my bank categorizes the charges as, and they look similar to how they are listed. What I want is for a macro I can run where when it encounters the word "Macy"(just an example) in the description field. It will then automatically change the Payee/Remitter and the Payee Category to what is listed in the picture (shorted to Macy and added Retail). I have several repeat payments that are similar and want to automate the process. Soooo in short, I want to run a certain action (filling in Payee/Remitter and payee category) every time it sees a certain keyword in description. I know I would have to have it set for each keyword.

I hope some of that makes sense. If it doesn't or if what I am asking for is not possible that is also helpful to know.

Thanks for reading.

Attachments

• Excel Question.JPG
    Excel Question.JPG
    72 KB · Views: 7

Excel Facts

Square and cube roots
The =SQRT(25) is a square root. For a cube root, use =125^(1/3). For a fourth root, use =625^(1/4).
Re: filling in Payee/Remitter and payee category
Where? Another Sheet? A few Columns to the right? At the bottom? In a Column with a specific Header?
Or just filter on a value.

Upvote 0
Re: filling in Payee/Remitter and payee category
Where? Another Sheet? A few Columns to the right? At the bottom? In a Column with a specific Header?
Or just filter on a value.
Were you able to see the attached photo? After the row marked "Description", I want it to condense it into the next column marked "payee/Remitter" and the next column after that marked "payee Category".

Upvote 0