Randomly Crashing Workbook

Pemdog

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi There, I have an excel work book that is loaded with complex VBA and macros etc. Recently, after upgrading from Windows 10 to 11 it randomly will crash (I'm using windows 11 with office 365) and become corrupted and unuseable. Excel repairs it but all the macros are disabled and the sheet becomes useless. Now here is where it gets weird. If I email that corrupted file to my wifes computer (windows 10 and office 365 system) I can open the file and use it. I can run the Macros and full function of the file. Then I can email it back to myself and open it on my PC and it works again, no problem. The same file nothing has changed just been sent through the internet to my wifes computer and then back to mine. The crash happens randomly without any notice. Do you have any idea what is going on here? I am not a coder, I am an intermediate level user of excel, my workbook has been programmed by a guru. Any suggestions??? Its driving me mad. Thanks in advance guys!!

Excel Facts

Repeat Last Command
Pressing F4 adds dollar signs when editing a formula. When not editing, F4 repeats last command.
It sounds like there might be an issue with the compatibility of your Excel workbook with Windows 11. This could be due to a variety of reasons, such as changes in the operating system or updates to Office 365.

One possible explanation for why the corrupted file works on your wife's computer is that the version of Excel she is using may be more compatible with the workbook. It's also possible that the act of emailing the file somehow fixes the corruption issue.

Here are a few things you can try to troubleshoot the issue:

1. Check for updates: Make sure that both Windows 11 and Office 365 are fully up to date. Sometimes, updates can address compatibility issues.