Rename Tabs Based on a Contents Page

G16LYB

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi

Apologies I know this has been asked before but I cant find anything that seems to cover this specifically.

I have a workbook that I want to have a contents page with a reference number, I've then linked this reference to another sheet in cell A1. I've found some basic code that renames the tab, but if the reference changes in the contents it doesn't update the sheet unless you go into it and click into a cell.

I'll need a lot of tabs in the workbook, possibly 200 with the ability to add more if required.

I'm pretty proficient with excel, but I've zero experience with VBA so detailed instructions would be really helpful.

Thanks

Excel Facts

Did you know Excel offers Filter by Selection?
Add the AutoFilter icon to the Quick Access Toolbar. Select a cell containing Apple, click AutoFilter, and you will get all rows with Apple
Not sure what this means:
You said:
page with a reference number

Are you wanting a Hyperlink in your Contents sheet that you can click on to goto a sheet name you have in column 1 of Contents Page?

Upvote 0
Maybe I should say Contents Sheet, I want the tabs to rename based on a value on this sheet. So say the contents tab cell A1 has a reference "1008" I want sheet 1 to rename as "1008".

I've linked this directly into a tab. So say Contents A1 links to Sheet1 cell A1, then Contents B1 links to Sheet2 cell A1. What I want to happen is if the data in Contents A1 changes it should rename the tab Sheet1 to the value. Does that make sense?

Upvote 0
When you say Linked. Do you mean a Hyperlink?

And you said:
say Contents A1 links to Sheet1 cell A1, then Contents B1

So you have all your sheet names in column A or Row(1)
A1 Means column A B1 means Column B

Upvote 0
No I dont want a hyperlink