Rolling Balances with Beginning Trial Balance

bkjohn2016

Hi,

I work as an accountant and am attempting to use financial data to create rolling balances. I have two Fact tables connected with various Dim tables. The first Fact table contains trial balance data at a given point in time i.e. end of month. The second table contains transaction data produced on a daily basis. I would like to add the transaction data to the previous year balance to produce a rolling balance.

I've created a measure to summarize the year to date transaction data:

TransactionSummary:=CALCULATE(SUM([NetBalanceChange]))

And a measure to calculate the previous years balance:

Beginning Balance:=CLOSINGBALANCEYEAR(SUM(FactTrialBalances[CURRENT BALANCE]),DimDate[Date])

Logic tells me that if I add the two I should get the results I'm looking for but it doesn't seem to work:

Rolling Balances:=[Beginning Balance]+[TransactionSummary]

I'm a bit new to the powerpivot environment and would appreciate any help you can offer. I'm sure it's just a filtering issue I've missed.

Thanks

Excel Facts

Return population for a City
If you have a list of cities in A2:A100, use Data, Geography. Then =A2.Population and copy down.
CLOSINGBALANCEYEAR returns "A scalar value that represents the expression evaluated at the last date of the year in the current context". So unless you are doing something different you have not specified, the function will return the value 'SUM(FactTrialBalances[CURRENT BALANCE])' for the last day of the current year (sum all summary data for only 12/31/2016 if the max year in filter context is 2016.) Not what you want I think. But if you make a slight change to the formula it should return 12/31/2015 ending balance.

Code:
PY Close Balance:= CLOSINGBALANCEYEAR( [COLOR=#574123]SUM(FactTrialBalances[CURRENT BALANCE]), PREVIOUSYEAR( DimDate[Date]) ) [/COLOR]

And if you want to be able to show a daily running balance of transactional data do

Code: