Run time error '380': Could not set the RowSource property. Invalid property value.

klay77

Hi, this is my first time posting, so hopefully I do not mess it up too much.

I am currently using Excel 2013 to create user input forms for recording information about support calls. I am relatively new to VBA and am pretty stumped on the Run-time error I keep receiving.

I have been using the following code to populate the row source, based on whether a particular radio button is selected. Most of the time it works fine, however occasionally it returns Run time error '380': Could not set the RowSource property. Invalid property value.

Private Sub Options()
Workbooks("ms call record form AOP").Activate

Select Case True
Case claims_option
call_reason.RowSource = ("call_reason_claims")

Case membership_option
call_reason.RowSource = ("call_reason_membership")

End Select
End Sub

I thought maybe it was because the users have multiple workbooks open at the same time, and it wasn't running on the correct workbook, however that doesn't seem to be the case.

Any help anyone can provide would be greatly appreciated!

thanks, Kate

Excel Facts

What did Pito Salas invent?
Pito Salas, working for Lotus, popularized what would become to be pivot tables. It was released as Lotus Improv in 1989.
Welcome to the Board, Kate!

Why are you dealing with multiple workbooks?

Unfortunately, your code doesn't make much sense (to me anyway, but I miss a lot). What does the Case "True" argument refer to, and where are your rowsource references?

If you're trying to collect data from multiple users, Access is a much better option. Or you could also look at the Survey functionality in the Excel Web App, which supports multiple users and it feeds to a central workbook that only you can access.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Hi Smitty,

I am only working with one workbook, but because the forms are used in a call centre the users often have other workbooks open at the same time on their desktops.