Shortening a massive IF statement

mattyhousecat

Hello Friends, im actually a Wintel Server Admin / DBA who just got thrown a excel spreadsheet to fix, im not the strongest with formalue, i need to shorten the following code because its huge.

thanks in advance if someone can do it <3

=IF(ISBLANK([@[Assigned To]]),"Select staff",IF(AND(AX2=1,AY2<>"No"),"Yes",IF(AND(AX2=2,AY2<>"No",AZ2<>"No"),"Yes",IF(AND(AX2=3,AY2<>"No",AZ2<>"No",BA2<>"No"),"Yes",IF(AND(AX2=4,AY2<>"No",AZ2<>"No",BA2<>"No",BB2<>"No"),"Yes",IF(AND(AX2=5,AY2<>"No",AZ2<>"No",BA2<>"No",BB2<>"No",BC2<>"No"),"Yes",IF(AND(AX2=5,AY2<>"No",AZ2<>"No",BA2<>"No",BB2<>"No",BC2<>"No",BD2<>"No")"Yes",IF(AND(AX2=5,AY2<>"No",AZ2<>"No",BA2<>"No",BB2<>"No",BC2<>"No",BD2<>"No",BE<>"No")"Yes",IF(AND(AX2=5,AY2<>"No",AZ2<>"No",BA2<>"No",BB2<>"No",BC2<>"No",BD2<>"No",BE<>"No",BF<>"No")"Yes",IF(AND(AX2=5,AY2<>"No",AZ2<>"No",BA2<>"No",BB2<>"No",BC2<>"No",BD2<>"No",BE<>"No",BF<>"No",BG<>"No")"Yes",IF(AND(AX2=5,AY2<>"No",AZ2<>"No",BA2<>"No",BB2<>"No",BC2<>"No",BD2<>"No",BE<>"No",BF<>"No",BG<>"No",BH<>"No")"Yes","No")))))))))))

Excel Facts

Whats the difference between CONCAT and CONCATENATE?
The newer CONCAT function can reference a range of cells. =CONCATENATE(A1,A2,A3,A4,A5) becomes =CONCAT(A1:A5)
Welcome to the Forum!

Ahh, the joys of fixing someone else's spreadsheet. Good luck with that.

For starters, your formula as posted has incorrect syntax ... various references to BE, BF etc should presumably be BE2, BF2 etc.

Ignoring for the moment the table reference: [@[Assigned To]], it appears that the intent of the formula is:

- There is a numeric value 1,2,3,4 .. etc in AX2 (let's call this N)
- The ten columns AY2:BH2 have either "No" or some other value
- The formula should return "No" if there is "No" anywhere in the first N columns, otherwise "Yes"

So for example, if AX2 is 3, the formula will return "No" if there is "No" anywhere in the 3 columns "AY2:BA2", otherwise "Yes".