Show Active Students

WxShady13

Board Regular
Joined
Jul 24, 2018
Messages
100
I have an Access DB that I use for my church's preschool. I need to add a filter button at the top to only show Active Students. How do I do this?
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

What is the fastest way to copy a formula?
If A2:A50000 contain data. Enter a formula in B2. Select B2. Double-click the Fill Handle and Excel will shoot the formula down to B50000.

Joe4

MrExcel MVP, Junior Admin
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Messages
53,713
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Where exactly in the database are you trying to do this?

If were me, I would probably just create a query called "Active Students", and add Criteria that applies the logic to show only Active Students.
Then all they need to do is open that query to see it.

Typically, when creating a database for others to use, one usually creates a "Form Driven" database (as you typically do not want others poking around behind the scenes). So, you could create a "Main Landing Page" form, and put buttons on it to open your various queries, reports, forms, and exports.
 

WxShady13

Board Regular
Joined
Jul 24, 2018
Messages
100
Where exactly in the database are you trying to do this?

If were me, I would probably just create a query called "Active Students", and add Criteria that applies the logic to show only Active Students.
Then all they need to do is open that query to see it.

Typically, when creating a database for others to use, one usually creates a "Form Driven" database (as you typically do not want others poking around behind the scenes). So, you could create a "Main Landing Page" form, and put buttons on it to open your various queries, reports, forms, and exports.
Awesome thank you. So I have taken the stock Students DB in Access and am working on adding the ability to filter by Active/Inactive and then track tuition payment. Is there an easier prebuilt DB in Access for this?
 

Joe4

MrExcel MVP, Junior Admin
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Messages
53,713
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Awesome thank you. So I have taken the stock Students DB in Access and am working on adding the ability to filter by Active/Inactive and then track tuition payment. Is there an easier prebuilt DB in Access for this?
There are some Access templates you can find online, but I don't know how much they would help with something like this.

What is your experience level with Access? Do you know how to create queries? If you simply need a few different "filters", it would probably be easier for you to create the queries with those filters on them, and would probably be easier for your users to use too (as it doesn't require any input on their part). You can make "interactive" user Forms, where they select a bunch of options to filter on, but that usually involves a bit of VBA, so it would probably be a little daunting for some fairly new to Access, especially if they have never used VBA.

Here is an article on creating queries in Access: Create a simple select query
If you do a Google search, you can find lots of information on Access queries, and building databases. What I find especially helpful is some of the YouTube tutorials, where you can see exactly what they are doing.
 

Micron

Well-known Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2015
Messages
1,860
If your form is based on a domain (set of records from a table or query) and it shows ALL students, then you already have that data loaded into the form. Another query wouldn't make much sense for that form IMO. If that is how your form is now, then you could simply filter the form using any one of a number of user actions. Which approach to use would depend on how many student "statuses" there are. If several, choosing one from a combo is a way. If only 2 (e.g. Active or Inactive) option/radio buttons in an option frame is another possibility. Once a choice is made, the form filter would be applied or removed accordingly. Option buttons can even provide the string (text) values that your status field uses and can be directly passed to the filter property.
 

WxShady13

Board Regular
Joined
Jul 24, 2018
Messages
100
There are some Access templates you can find online, but I don't know how much they would help with something like this.

What is your experience level with Access? Do you know how to create queries? If you simply need a few different "filters", it would probably be easier for you to create the queries with those filters on them, and would probably be easier for your users to use too (as it doesn't require any input on their part). You can make "interactive" user Forms, where they select a bunch of options to filter on, but that usually involves a bit of VBA, so it would probably be a little daunting for some fairly new to Access, especially if they have never used VBA.

Here is an article on creating queries in Access: Create a simple select query
If you do a Google search, you can find lots of information on Access queries, and building databases. What I find especially helpful is some of the YouTube tutorials, where you can see exactly what they are doing.
Thank you
 

Joe4

MrExcel MVP, Junior Admin
Joined
Aug 1, 2002
Messages
53,713
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
You are welcome.
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,102,695
Messages
5,488,351
Members
407,633
Latest member
ps01

This Week's Hot Topics

  • Timer in VBA - Stop, Start, Pause and Reset
    [CODE=vba][/CODE] Option Explicit Dim CmdStop As Boolean Dim Paused As Boolean Dim Start Dim TimerValue As Date Dim pausedTime As Date Sub...
  • how to updates multiple rows in muliselect listbox
    Hello everyone. I need help with below code. code is only chaning 1st row in mulitiselect list box. i know issue with code...
  • Delete Row from Table
    I am trying to delete a row from a table using VBA using a named range to find what I need to delete. My Range is finding the right cell. In the...
  • Assigning to a variable
    I have a for each block where I want to assign the value in column 5 of the found row to the variable Serv. [CODE=vba] For Each ws In...
  • Way to verify information
    Hi All, I don't know what to call this formula, and therefore can't search. I have a spreadsheet with information I want to reference...
  • Active Cell Address – Inactive Sheet
    How to use VBA to get the cell address of the active cell in an inactive worksheet and then place that cell address in a location on the current...
Top