Split workbook into multiple workbooks with multiple sheets based on list of regions

LenaS

Hi,

I have code that used to work beautifully until two days ago. It works on a workbook with multiple tabs - splits it into multiple workbooks from tab to tab with underscore _ in its name. E.g. I have a tab AT1_(AT stands for Atlantic) and three tabs after it - MD059 and PA199, then tab AT2_ and PA239, PA287, etc after it. It would make a new file AT1_ with all three tabs (AT1, MD059 and PA199) and save it to C:\temp. Then it would do the same with AT2_
Something happened and now it just saves AT1_ with no adjacent tabs. So I get a bunch of region tabs - AT1_, AT2_, NE1_, NE2_) - but no data tabs MDXXX, PAXXX, etc. in them.

I would do it all manually, but unfortunately, I have 64 regions + tabs in between. Makes it a pretty arduous task.
Again, the code below worked last month. I am not a programmer, just someone who can make sense of some code, maybe write something really simple and also plagiarize and combine snippents or code to make Excel do what I need. However, I cannot identify the problem here.

If you'd rather suggest a new code to split a workbook - please do. I can create a list of regions and tabs, something like that the code creates a book with all the AT tabs and then all the AT2 tabs, something like that. I imagine in any case the code will need a list with the worksheets.

At1_ MD059
AT1_ PA199
AT2_ PA239
AT2_ PA287

I cannot post attachments yet, so unfortunately cannot give you a test file. Basically if you create a file with multiple sheets and name a couple of them with XXXX_ and have some sheets with whatever names in between should do it.

Thank you so much for your help - combed internet and could not find anything to help me. Also planning to post this to Mr.Excel forum.

Lena

Sub SeparateWorksheetsByAVPRegion()

' The macro basically creates a list of all sheet names, then identifies the sheet number for all sheets considered to be the