Summing Values for Unique Records

MD610

Board Regular
I am new to PowerPivot and have already discovered how it will be changing my work life forever. However, I am still learning the more complex patterns of DAX syntax and have come across a situation that is stumping me.

I have a table of employee records joined to a table of work sites and then to a table of dates. IT has created this tjoined view in SQL Server. The final result is a highly denormalized view of the data.

The employee records have hours and wages associated with them. Due to the denormalization, each employee record appears multiple times in my data. I would like to create a measure that sums the unique hours and wages values for each unique Employee ID.

So far I have either ended up with errors or the sum of all the duplicate wages in my denormalized data.

So for example, if I have an employee record has 40 hours and it appears 10 times in my denormalized data, I don't want to end up with 400hrs in my measure. I just need the 40 summed once based on the unique Employee ID.

Thanks in advance for any tips!

Excel Facts

Easy bullets in Excel
If you have a numeric keypad, press Alt+7 on numeric keypad to type a bullet in Excel.
Have you tried taking the SUM and then dividing by COUNTROWS(DISTINCT(YourTable[CustomerID]))?

Also, I highly recommend requesting that the DB folks deliver you the data as separate views so you can represent these as multiple tables in PowerPivot. There are many advantages to that, some of which are covered here:

http://www.powerpivotpro.com/2011/08/less-columns-more-rows-more-speed/

And some others are covered here in this two-part series:

http://www.powerpivotpro.com/2012/01/salesbudget-integrating-data-of-different-grains/

http://www.powerpivotpro.com/2012/01/data-of-different-grains-a-followup/

Upvote 0
I did try that and was getting the correct value sometimes but not when certain filters were applied.