Table relationships

Misca

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I'm quite confident with Excel but a complete newbie when it comes to BI and now I'd like to add the BI tools to my set of skills as well. I can understand the basic relationships between the tables but I'm lost when I have more than a single column in my facts table that are all related to the same column in another table. And since I'm working with transportation data there are lots of that kind fields in my facts tables:

My facts table (=Shipments) has fields like ID, PickUpDate, OriginZip, ConsignorID, DeliveryDate, DestinationZip, ConsigneeID, Weight and PayerID.

Then there are several dimension tables that are easily related like ZipCodes-table and Terminals-table. Each ZipCode in the ZipCodes-table is related to a single Terminal in the Terminals table.

With Excel it's really easy to use VLOOKUP to get the Origin Terminal for the OriginZip and the Destination Terminal for the DestinationZip but with PowerPivot I can only get the relationship to work from one Zip to the ZipCodes table. How can I get both terminals to work? I've tried USERELATIONSHIP and LOOKUPVALUE but I just can't get them to work.

Once I can get both Terminals for each shipments begins the next problem:

I need to calculate the number of shipments & tons between the terminals. In a grid that's really easy to do in Pivot Table but what I really want is only a single column for the Terminal name and then three other columns for the Inbound, Outbound and Internal measures where the Inbound and Outbound numbers are quite easily calculated as the same number of shipments is leaving from this terminal and arriving to another terminal but the internal numbers (ie. Origin Terminal = Destination Terminal) should be divided in half in the calculation since it's the same shipment both ways. How could I do that with Power Pivot?