text import wizard - missing break lines on some columns ?

tcurrier

Board Regular
Joined
Apr 27, 2006
Messages
175
Hi,

Does anyone know why the Text Import Wizard 'misses' putting break lines on some columns? I have a spreadsheet that's fairly wide (about 600 characters), and it seems to only put break lines between the first 300 or 400 so characters.

So, then I have to put the break lines in manually and sometimes I miss a column and have to do the spreadsheet all over again.

Anyone have any ideas ?

Thanks !
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

VLOOKUP to Left?
Use =VLOOKUP(A2,CHOOSE({1,2},$Z$1:$Z$99,$Y$1:$Y$99),2,False) to lookup Y values to left of Z values.

Richard Schollar

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
23,707
Hi

Just to be clear, what exactly do you mean when you say "break lines"? You won't be able to exceed the Excel column limit of 256 columns.

Best regards

Richard
 

tcurrier

Board Regular
Joined
Apr 27, 2006
Messages
175
I have a text file that's 600 characters wide. In this text file are columns of data. When I import this text file into Excel using the Text Import Wizard, the Wizard automatically puts break lines in between my columns of data, except when it gets towards the end of the line.... I'd say approximately between positions 400 and 600, it doesn't put break lines there, even though there's columns of data there in the text file ....
 

Norie

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2004
Messages
75,918
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
As far as I know the text import wizard just 'guesses' where to put line breaks.

Is this file delimited in anyway?
 

tcurrier

Board Regular
Joined
Apr 27, 2006
Messages
175

ADVERTISEMENT

No, there's no delimiters in the file..... There's a lot more data in positions 1-400 than in 401-600, so I guess it does a better job of 'guessing' when there's more data to look at....
 

Norie

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2004
Messages
75,918
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
So if there are no delimiters how are the columns being determined?
 

BatmanUK

Board Regular
Joined
Jul 2, 2006
Messages
185

ADVERTISEMENT

Is it a fixed width file? If so, can you not just record a macro when opening the file and use that macro as the basis of a generic process to open files of that type?
 

tcurrier

Board Regular
Joined
Apr 27, 2006
Messages
175
Actually that's a good idea.... but this spreadsheet is a one-shot deal.... The next time I do one, I'll keep your suggestion in mind ......

Thanks!
 

Richard Schollar

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
23,707
If possible, it would probably be best to place actual delimiters within the file itself, whether these are commas, semicolons, tabs, or even alphanumerics doesn't matter. You then wouldn't have this problem at all.

Richard
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,114,041
Messages
5,545,687
Members
410,698
Latest member
Wloven
Top