Thoughts on source abstraction and common functions

mrtoby

Hi everyone

I am new to the world of PowerPivot, and I am struggling with some basic architecture problems.

1. How do I get an abstraction layer between my operational sources and PowerPivot, so that if I have many PowerPivot reports, and my source changes, I need to make adjustments in only one place, not in every report?
  2. Where to I perfom common functions that are needed for all my PowerPivot reports in one specific use-case? I don't want to define relationships and calculate measures that are common to all reports over and over in every report.
Now, the nice (and timeconsuming) way to solve this is to use an ETL process to get the data from the source into a new database, preferably in a star schema. Then use PowerPivot to build reports on this.

But if I do it like this, I do a lot of work in ETL that would be much simpler in PowerPivot. So, my next thought was to create a master PowerPivot where I do all of the work I would have done in ETL, and then individual reports would use this master PowerPivot workbook as (only) source. This however seems only possible if I use SharePoint :(

Are there other solutions to my two problems? Am I not getting the whole picture here? Or am I getting it and the only problem is that I don't run SharePoint?

Thanks for your help,
Toby

Excel Facts

Bring active cell back into view
Start at A1 and select to A9999 while writing a formula, you can't see A1 anymore. Press Ctrl+Backspace to bring active cell into view.
Hello, Mr Toby :)

First of all yes - SharePoint is required for the hub/spoke workbook approach, which we call core/thin at Pivotstream.

Secondly, I really don't see PowerPivot as a competitor to ETL, but as a complement to it. I can't "reshape" data in PowerPivot.