UDF for converting letter ratings to number and multiplying by percentages for performance ratings

lmoseley7

Board Regular
I would like to write a User Defined Function to calculate performance ratings. Our employees are rated on a scale of I, M-, M, M+, E, where I would be the lowest level and E would be the highest. You can assign a number to each of these ratings from 1 to 5. Employees are then graded on each of their job responsibilities, which are weighted as a percentage of their total performance rating. For instance, say an employee has 5 areas of responsibility that are rated 10%, 25%, 35%, 25% and 5%, you would then multiply these percentages by the rating (1-5) to get an overall rating.

I've never written a UDF, but I've used several I've found on the internet and have updated some to fix issues, so I have some experience with them. As it stands, the ratings and weightings are not in contiguous ranges, although that could be overcome. If it were possible to write the UDF to accept two non-contiguous ranges that would be great, but not necessary. The data currently exists with the rating in once cell and the weighting in the cell directly below it, then the next rating might be 20+ rows down the page. Following is my poor attempt at trying to come up with the basis for the UDF.

The function as used in Excel would work like this:

=ePerformance(range of ratings which would be converted to numbers, range of weightings to be multiplied by the converted ratings)

In VBA it would look like:

Function ePerformance (Ratings As Range, Weightings As Range)

Dim rCell as Range
Dim eRating as Integer
Dim weightedRating as Integer
'Not sure what other variables I might need to declare here or if I've done these correctly

weightedRating = 0

For each rCell in Ratings
If rCell.Value = "E" Then
eRating = 5
If rCell.Value = "M+" Then
eRating = 4
If rCell.Value = "M" Then
eRating = 3 '