Using a 1d Array to affect a 2d array

zoog25

Hello All,

Here is the situation I Have. I have a 1D (Column F) array of X length (68,000) and I have a 2D Array (Column R and S) with of X length (about 75,000). Now i want to compare each entry in Array1 with Array2. When it matches with Array2, it pulls out the information in the second column. So for example row 9 of Array1 "Let says 959" matches up with row 37 of Array2 (959,37). The 37 is placed into a variable called nr. Then after that row 37 of Array2 gets deleted and Array2 is 1 row shorter than before.

The reasoning for this is that as Array1 reaches closer and closer to the end of it's list, Array2 gets smaller and smaller so there is not that many entries that need to be gone through.

Note that there are no duplicates in array2, so once eliminated, the information won't be needed after matching. Thank you for any help

As an extra, once the loop has gone through all of Array1. Array2 can be erased or emptied. I'm new to using arrays.

Excel Facts

Easy bullets in Excel
If you have a numeric keypad, press Alt+7 on numeric keypad to type a bullet in Excel.
Hi, zoog25
1. Are the data all numbers?
If yes then can you sort the data by col F then col R ascending?
If yes then we can write a much more efficient code.

Note that there are no duplicates in array2
2. What about array1, are there any duplicates?

Upvote 0
You did not say what you wanted to do with your Variable nr. This code will write nr to Sheet3, starting at Cell A1. If you have not worked with Arrays much, you may not realize that once they are in memory they are blazingly fast. There is not really a need to try to use logic shorten the number of loops. This code is designed to make each loop as short as possible by exiting the loop once the value is found.

VBA Code:
Sub ArrayLoop()

Dim arr1, arr2, nr
    Dim a1 As Long, a2 As Long, x As Long

arr1 = Range("F2:F" & Cells(Rows.Count, 6).End(xlUp).Row)