Using checkboxes to populate a value if they are checked

usnapoleon

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
For starters, I have never used checkboxes before, so I have spent the last few hours watching videos and reading instructions and I have not been getting anywhere. Sorry to take your time.

I had an idea on a spreadsheet I'm creating, and it occurred to me that checkboxes might be the best solution for my goal. ---- if you can think of a different idea, please let me know, I'm open to going in other directions.

That aside, let me share my idea, my code, and what I'm aiming to do, and with your expertise we can see where to go from here.

1699510281298.png

My business has to write off certain expenses and our account coding breaks it out by department and the expense. My idea is for my team to input the expense code (that is the blue areas in column B) and we'd check the box for the specific department it's related to (columns c-f). Depending on the checked box, column G will be formulaed to input the department code that we see in the black row. That formula is what I need help with.

Way over to the side in column T (not shown) I have a sumif formula that will look at column G and B and give totals for the 'Amount' in column H. I am just letting you know what we're doing with the overall results.

I can write an ugly code like =if(c5=true,"0010",if(d5=true,"0430",if..... blah blah blah... I am just going off the top of my head but it would be ugly regardless. And long. And ugly. And long... haha.

I currently have the top row of checkboxes (row 5) linked to each cell... so the first one is lined to C5, literally the cell that the checkbox is located at. Unfortunately it automatically types 'TRUE' or 'FALSE'. Nothing I can do about that, other than recolor the cells to white, change the text to white and nobody would ever know. Not sure how wise this would be.