VBA / AutoFilter Based on Cell Value

richardtims

Hello,

I have tried searching for a solution for my problem within the forums, but have been unsuccessful. I hope that this is not a duplicate thread, but if so, please let me know.

I am still pretty new to VBA and hopefully this is not too much of a Rookie question. I am trying to set an auto filter to filter out a specific date that would be a value in cell Z1 on the active worksheet. I have been playing around with it but can get it to actually work. The part that I need to replace is the "8/30/2018" portion of the code. It needs to be the date that is in cell Z1. Please let me know if you have a solution. Thanks.
Rich (BB code):
   ActiveSheet.Range("$A$1:$Z$382774").AutoFilter Field:=6, Operator:= _
        xlFilterValues, Criteria2:=Array(2, "8/30/2018")

Excel Facts

Can a formula spear through sheets?
Use =SUM(January:December!E7) to sum E7 on all of the sheets from January through December
Try this:
Code:
        xlFilterValues, Criteria2:=Range("Z1").Value

Upvote 0
Possibly...
Code:
Range("$A$1:$Y$382774").AutoFilter 6, Format(Range("Z1"), "m/dd/yyyy")
Important, make sure that your format is the same i.e. if your
date format is actually m/d/yyyy then it needs changing in the code.

Please note that I have only wrote the code as a Criteria1 for testing (and don't see why your line isn't showing Criteria1).

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Thanks for the response from both. Neither solutions worked. It is still bugging. Here is more code. What I am doing is essentially opening a read only copy of a large spreadsheet on our servers. I am then copying the value that is in cell A1 on my workbook saved on my desktop to cell Z1 on the large read only spreadsheet. I then want to enable the auto filter and filter column 2 and 6. Column 2 will always be the same, but column 6 will be a date that will be dynamic. I hope this explains my situation. I have pasted code below. Thanks again for your help.
Rich (BB code):