VBA: Calling Scripting.Dictionary Values Using a Column as a Key

thorspear

Hello all,

I have a Master list of 230k IDs that correspond to different values depending on the raw data source. I have 30 Source sheets with ~140k IDs each, the sort and number of which are unique to each sheet. The Source sheets contain 2 columns, an ID column and a value ("Bucket") column (excuse all the tables but I understand it might be easier with a visual):

Master
IDSource1Source2Source3

<tbody>
</tbody>

Source1
IDBucket
1A
5B
7A
8C

<tbody>
</tbody>

Source2
IDBucket
2B
3B
7C
9D
10A

<tbody>
</tbody>

Source3
IDBucket
2C
4D
6A
9C

<tbody>
</tbody>

Ordinarily, one could do a VLOOKUP on the ID column in the master sheet and return the value in source sheet, but due to the size of these files, VLOOKUPs are no longer an option. I would like to create a scripting dictionary for each source which then uses the ID column in the master to populate the Bucket value. The outcome would look something like this:

Master
IDSource1Source2Source3
1A
2BC
3B
4D
5B
6A
7AC
8C
9DC
10A

<tbody>
</tbody>

Here is the code that I have so far. Credit goes to the excellent walk through by matthewspatrick at Experts Exchange which can be found here:

Code:
Sub Rosetta()

Dim Contents As Variant
    Dim r As Long
    Dim dic As Object
    Dim ID As String
    Dim bucket As String
    Dim Keys As Variant

With Application
        .Calculation = xlCalculationManual
        .ScreenUpdating = False
    End With

With ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("Buckets")

.Range("c1").Resize(1, .Columns.Count - 2).EntireColumn.Delete
        Contents = .Range("a2", .Cells(.Rows.Count, "B").End(xlUp)).Value

Set dic = CreateObject("Scripting.Dictionary")
        For r = 1 To UBound(Contents, 1)
            ID = Contents(r, 1)
            bucket = Contents(r, 2)

If dic.Exists(ID) Then

If bucket < dic.Item(ID) Then dic.Item(ID) = bucket
            Else

dic.Add ID, bucket
            End If
        Next

End With