VBA code to Duplicate and Rename sheets according to a list

magemaester

Hi guys,

I want to duplicate a worksheet 10 times, and rename those 10 sheets according to a table of names residing in another spreadsheet. Currently I've written the following code:

Dim iSheetNumber As Long
Dim rNewSheetNames As Range
Dim rName As Range

Set rNewSheetNames = Sheets("SheetNameTable").Range("E7:E16")

For iSheetNumber = 1 To 10
ActiveSheet.Copy After:=Sheets(Sheets.Count)
For Each rName In rNewSheetNames

ActiveSheet.Name = rName.Value
Next rName
Next iSheetNumber

I believe the error in this macro is that I've used nested For-Next statements, so the macro gets stuck inside the inner For Each-Next loop and doesn't really duplicate the sheets. Instead it just keeps trying to rename the same sheet over and over again. I'm a beginner VBA user and I couldn't figure out how to work around it. Can anyone help?

Thanks once again!

Excel Facts

Fastest way to copy a worksheet?
Hold down the Ctrl key while dragging tab for Sheet1 to the right. Excel will make a copy of the worksheet.
First off, you are identifying the problem correctly. Your VBA code wants to create 10 copies of the sheet, but the nested For ... Next renames the first copy 10 times and ends up on the name found in the last cell of the source range. Presumably the VBA proceeds to create a second copy, renames it 10 times, and ends up with a name that is already in use. You didn't mention it, but I am assuming that is the point where you see an error message.

There are various ways to resolve this. Here is a solution where you start by reading the 10 sheet names into an array, and then apply them one by one as each new sheet is created:

Code:
    Dim SourceSheet As Worksheet
    Dim i As Long, RowNumber As Long
    Dim rName As Range
    Dim SheetName(9)

Set SourceSheet = ActiveSheet

For i = 0 To 9
        RowNumber = i + 7
        SheetName(i) = ThisWorkbook.Sheets("SheetNameTable").Range("E" & RowNumber).Value