VBA Macro plus Sendkey

devdog99

Good day all,

I am a total newbe to VBA. I used to use a ghosting program till I could no longer utilize thumbdrives on govt computers. So now I am trying my hand at VBA.

I want to copy a list of report numbers from an excel file labeled "Daily Tools" from column B of sheet 1, then switch to a non Office program and run the rest of the VBA using Send keys.

The SendKeys portion is flawless and the Macro will work in the excel file by itself. How do I get them to talk to each other, and then loop untill there are no longer any report numbers?

Dont laugh to hard at my coding, like I said, I'm a self taught newbe and work with what I know.

Thank you

Sub EOSToolbox()

'
' MCNCopy Macro
'
' Keyboard Shortcut: Ctrl+m
'
Range("B2").Select
Selection.Copy

AppActivate ("NALCOMIS IMA - [Maintenance]")

SendKeys ("%ms"), True
SendKeys ("^v~"), True
SendKeys ("%j"), True
SendKeys ("%p"), True
SendKeys ("{TAB}"), True
SendKeys ("{TAB}"), True
SendKeys ("{TAB}"), True
SendKeys ("%i"), True
SendKeys ("username{TAB}"), True
SendKeys ("password"), True
SendKeys ("~"), True
SendKeys ("%S"), True
SendKeys ("GV~"), True
SendKeys ("%b"), True
SendKeys ("%x"), True
Application.Wait (Now() + TimeValue("0:00:02"))

End Sub

Excel Facts

Show numbers in thousands?
Use a custom number format of #,##0,K. Each comma after the final 0 will divide the displayed number by another thousand
Hi, and welcome to the forum. Don't worry about judging, everyone's a newbie at some point :).

You may need to be a bit clearer about what you are trying to achieve. Does the other program need to interact with the spreadsheet and how will the information transfer occur? By clipboard, CSV etc.

If you want to start from the other program, and it isn't an office product, then you may need to integrate the two using VBScript (which is different to VBA). On the plus side sendkeys is actually a VBScript technology so you've got that part worked out.