VBcode for adding a LOOKUP formula

stct80

Board Regular
Hello all,

I am relatively new to the VB code for Excel macro and wanted to get your advise on the following macro..

'=== CODE START ===
Sub c_SLCodeThisWk()
Dim t As Long
For t = 2 To 100
Range("AR" & t).Formula = "=LOOKUP(2^15,SEARCH({""Overdue"",""Red"",""PastY"",""Yellow"",""Green"",""Complete"",""No_BL""},RC44),{6,3,5,2,1,0,4})"
Next t
End Sub

'=== CODE COMPLETE ===

With this code, I am trying to populate a formula in the 2 nd row of Column AU, with the pseudo code logic:

• Check the value in Column AR of the same row
  • Populate a number (from 0 / 1 / 2 / 3 /4 /5 / 6), based on the string in Column AR of the same row.
  • Move to the next row to refer the same logic till there is no more row left.

Problem is, I am getting an #NA value in place of the correct number in the destination cell for all the rows.
I think, there is some small change needed in the formula. Any advise?

Last edited:

Excel Facts

Why are there 1,048,576 rows in Excel?
The Excel team increased the size of the grid in 2007. There are 2^20 rows and 2^14 columns for a total of 17 billion cells.
Try

Code:
Sub c_SLCodeThisWk()
Range("AU2:AU100").Formula = "=LOOKUP(2^15,SEARCH({""Overdue"",""Red"",""PastY"",""Yellow"",""Green"",""Complete"",""No_BL""},AR2),{6,3,5,2,1,0,4})"
End Sub

Upvote 0
I think it's a problem with RC44, try changing that line to:
Rich (BB code):
Range("AR" & t).FormulaR1C1 = "=LOOKUP(2^15,SEARCH({""Overdue"",""Red"",""PastY"",""Yellow"",""Green"",""Complete"",""No_BL""},RC44),{6,3,5,2,1,0,4})"

Upvote 0
Hi Jonmo1 & JackDanIce,

Thank you for quick responses. I think, both the solutions worked perfectly fine. I need one more advise, if you can.