Find MAX number in range formatted at TEXT

RobbieC

Office Version
  1. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi there, I know that the answer to this is staring me in the face, but I can't get my brain into gear this morning

I have a range (I182:I186) which is reflecting dates from other sheets (date formatted 20180116). This range is formatted as TEXT as the reference cells are also formatted as TEXT (generated via vba) - I cannot change this...

so I have a range which looks like:

I thought I could use:

Code:
=MAX(I182:I186) // this cell is formatted as GENERAL

to simply return the largest number, but it just returns 0, but should be returning 20180116

What am I doing wrong? My brain hurts :(

Excel Facts

What is the last column in Excel?
Excel columns run from A to Z, AA to AZ, AAA to XFD. The last column is XFD.
try this, enter with Ctrl-Shift-Enter

=MAX((I182:I186)*1)

Upvote 0
FormR, you are a STAR! Works perfectly!

What is happening here? I've never used AGGREGATE before

Upvote 0
What is happening here? I've never used AGGREGATE before

Hi - a couple of notes:
1. Aggregate() with a function num of 14 can handle array processing without the need for CSE
2. In Excel when we attempt to perform an arithmetic operation on text, if it can, Excel will convert that text to a number and then perform the calculation

So we add a zero to each cell in the range with 0+I182:I186 which converts the text to a number without changing it to a different number. Then the arguments (14, 6) used in Aggregate() tell that function to get the largest k value (specificed in the last paramter) and to ignore any errors (just in case there is some text in the range that can't be converted to a number)

Upvote 0
Just bumped into another problem with the same cells...

I want to use my 'result cell' as part of a VLOOKUP on the same range... is it not working because of the text formatting?

Code:
=VLOOKUP(AGGREGATE(14,6,0+I182:I186,1), I182:K186, 3)