Override conditional formatting

generalgort

Hi All,

My first post here, I am a bit of a novice at excel and a complete novice at VB and VBA so be patient with me.

It seems a relatively simple problem, but I can't seem to find an answer.

I am using Excel 2002 on XP with SP3.

I have a large spreadsheet that for ease of reading I have shaded alternate rows using conditional formatting. OK so far, I have three columns that I want to have this shading until a 'tick' is entered in a cell in those columns then a colour is displayed. I am using the 'tick' character in 'Wingdings' font from the character map which I copy and paste.

As I said it seems a relatively simple problem, but at the moment the solution eludes me, can anybody help please?

Phil

Excel Facts

What is the fastest way to copy a formula?
If A2:A50000 contain data. Enter a formula in B2. Select B2. Double-click the Fill Handle and Excel will shoot the formula down to B50000.
You would need to test for that value in your CF formula, if you use WEbdings and the letter a that makes the test simple.

Upvote 0
But remember to test it as the first condition as conditional formatting will stop testing once a TRUE criterium as been met.

Upvote 0
Thanks for the reply xld & Magriza,

Do you mean use an 'IF' statement, I tried using:

=IF(C5="",(MOD(ROW(),2)=0),0)

as Condition 1 and:

=IF(C5<>"",(MOD(ROW(),2)=0),0)

for Condition 2, where C5 is the first cell that I want to change to a colour when a 'tick' is entered, when I 'fill down' it works OK but only for the shaded cells and not for the unshaded ones, wher am I going wrong?

Phil.

Upvote 0
Hi xld,