Error Checking in Excel
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Array Formula help

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    About a year ago Aladin helped me build some array formulas for my spreadsheet. I'm having some problems with the sheet and want to see if I can email it to you to take a look at it. You can email me at sdavis267@comcast.net .

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    MrExcel MVP Aladin Akyurek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    The Hague, NL
    Posts
    84,024
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Tagged
    7 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-05-02 08:12, Road Warrior wrote:
    About a year ago Aladin helped me build some array formulas for my spreadsheet. I'm having some problems with the sheet and want to see if I can email it to you to take a look at it. You can email me at sdavis267@comcast.net .

    Thanks in advance
    Send me a copy before anyone else sees the mess . By the way, could you point me the thread, I assume, at the old board.

    Aladin

  3. #3
    MrExcel MVP Aladin Akyurek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    The Hague, NL
    Posts
    84,024
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Tagged
    7 Thread(s)

    Default

    Stuart,

    You have spaces (" ", whose ASCII code is 32) in cells which are supposed to be empty or contain a number.

    Array or SUMPRODUCT formulas don't like that.

    I've put conditional formatting on the range in column M. The cell becomes red if it houses an expected value such as a space.

    Regards,

    Aladin

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks for the help. I should have know to check for the spaces, but it's been a while since I've worked on any spreadsheets.

    Another stupid question:

    When I open this spreadsheet, why is it opening with the macro disabled? How do I re-enable it?

    Thanks

  5. #5
    MrExcel MVP Aladin Akyurek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    The Hague, NL
    Posts
    84,024
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Tagged
    7 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-05-02 13:28, Road Warrior wrote:
    Thanks for the help. I should have know to check for the spaces, but it's been a while since I've worked on any spreadsheets.

    Another stupid question:

    When I open this spreadsheet, why is it opening with the macro disabled? How do I re-enable it?

    Thanks
    The copy I have comes up with the usual question Enable/Disable Macros. I just checked the sort macro, it just works!

    Aladin


  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    It is not behaving correctly on my computer. I can open the file but the "enable/disable" dialog box does not come up prior to the file opening.

  7. #7
    MrExcel MVP Aladin Akyurek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    The Hague, NL
    Posts
    84,024
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Tagged
    7 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-05-02 13:56, Road Warrior wrote:
    It is not behaving correctly on my computer. I can open the file but the "enable/disable" dialog box does not come up prior to the file opening.
    Are you talking about the file that I sent you back?

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The file you sent me back works fine on one of my computers, but not the other. The enable/disable dialog does not appear on one system.

    It works on the computer with Excel 97 SR-2, but not on the system with Excel 2000 SR-1

  9. #9
    MrExcel MVP Aladin Akyurek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    The Hague, NL
    Posts
    84,024
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    37 Post(s)
    Tagged
    7 Thread(s)

    Default

    On 2002-05-02 14:12, Road Warrior wrote:
    The file you sent me back works fine on one of my computers, but not the other. The enable/disable dialog does not appear on one system.

    It works on the computer with Excel 97 SR-2, but not on the system with Excel 2000 SR-1
    Weird. I worked on it on Excel 2000!

    Hope someone else has an idea on this.

  10. #10
    Board Regular zacemmel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Redmond, WA
    Posts
    636
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Have you checked tools - > macro - > macro security?

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •