Results 1 to 10 of 10

Macro stopped working after enabling Excel Add Ins?

This is a discussion on Macro stopped working after enabling Excel Add Ins? within the Excel Questions forums, part of the Question Forums category; Hi, What would cause a macro to stop working after a Exel Add-In was enabled?...

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    12

    Question Macro stopped working after enabling Excel Add Ins?

    Hi,
    What would cause a macro to stop working after a Exel Add-In was enabled?

  2. #2
    MrExcel MVP Jonmo1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Bryan, TX
    Posts
    42,556

    Default Re: Macro stopped working after enabling Excel Add Ins?

    Welcome to the board.

    Off the top of my head...

    1. Your macro has the same name as a macro/function in the Add-In
    2. Your macro uses Public Variables that are also used by the Add-In

    I'm sure there are lots of other causes.

    Can you post your code, and Which Add-in are you referring to, one of your own (post it's code), or a public one like the Analysis Toolpack?
    Add-in for posting ranges as copyable tables (bottom of the page) -Win & Mac

    The more we learn, and the better we get at our trade, the easier it becomes to overlook the obvious.

    Life moves pretty fast. If you don't stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.
    Ferris Bueller A.K.A. John Hughes, 1986

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    12

    Question Re: Macro stopped working after enabling Excel Add Ins?

    Forgive me if I stumble here a bit I'm not the one that builds the macro's. But I can follow directions like a champ!! The Excel Add-Ins that were enabled where: Analysis ToolPak, Analysis ToolPak VBA and Solver Add-in.

    Here is the macro code -- it is simple stop and start buttons:

    Private Sub CommandButton1_Click()
    Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Offset(1, 0) = Time
    End Sub

    Private Sub CommandButton2_Click()
    Cells(Rows.Count, 2).End(xlUp).Offset(1, 0) = Time
    End Sub




    I wasn't sure if this has anything to do with the issues, so am including it:

    'Entry point for RibbonX button click
    Sub ShowATPDialog(control As IRibbonControl)
    Application.Run ("fDialog")
    End Sub

    'Callback for RibbonX button label
    Sub GetATPLabel(control As IRibbonControl, ByRef label)
    label = ThisWorkbook.Sheets("RES").Range("A10").Value
    End Sub



    Any ideas and help would be great!
    Thanks!
    Kathy

  4. #4
    MrExcel MVP Jonmo1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Bryan, TX
    Posts
    42,556

    Default Re: Macro stopped working after enabling Excel Add Ins?

    ok, thanks.

    And can you describe "Stop working" ?
    What exactly happens?
    Do you get an error? What error?
    Does macro not do what you expect? What exactly DOES it do? What did you expect it to do?
    Add-in for posting ranges as copyable tables (bottom of the page) -Win & Mac

    The more we learn, and the better we get at our trade, the easier it becomes to overlook the obvious.

    Life moves pretty fast. If you don't stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.
    Ferris Bueller A.K.A. John Hughes, 1986

  5. #5
    MrExcel MVP Jonmo1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Bryan, TX
    Posts
    42,556

    Default Re: Macro stopped working after enabling Excel Add Ins?

    Perhaps it's related to a recent Office Update that seems to have broken some ActiveX controls
    Office Update breaks ActiveX controls | Excel Matters
    Add-in for posting ranges as copyable tables (bottom of the page) -Win & Mac

    The more we learn, and the better we get at our trade, the easier it becomes to overlook the obvious.

    Life moves pretty fast. If you don't stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.
    Ferris Bueller A.K.A. John Hughes, 1986

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Macro stopped working after enabling Excel Add Ins?

    We can see the button on the spreadsheet, but we are not able to click on the button. It is like it is there just as an image. There was no update to office made. The only thing that changed was the excel add-in. We have tried several spreadsheets with this timing macro on the computer and none of the spreadsheets work -- we are not able to click on the button. Now if I take that same excel onto another machine it works just fine.

  7. #7
    MrExcel MVP Jonmo1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Bryan, TX
    Posts
    42,556

    Default Re: Macro stopped working after enabling Excel Add Ins?

    Quote Originally Posted by Krayziekitten View Post
    There was no update to office made.
    Sorry to be blunt, but how do you know the update wasn't installed? What steps did you take to check?

    Quote Originally Posted by Krayziekitten View Post
    The only thing that changed was the excel add-in.
    That could be purely coincidental.

    It certainly won't hurt (and will be easy) to follow the suggested solution in that article I linked to.
    Add-in for posting ranges as copyable tables (bottom of the page) -Win & Mac

    The more we learn, and the better we get at our trade, the easier it becomes to overlook the obvious.

    Life moves pretty fast. If you don't stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.
    Ferris Bueller A.K.A. John Hughes, 1986

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Macro stopped working after enabling Excel Add Ins?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jonmo1 View Post
    Perhaps it's related to a recent Office Update that seems to have broken some ActiveX controls
    Office Update breaks ActiveX controls | Excel Matters
    Hi Jonmo1,

    The Excel file with Macro that I regularly use also stopped working. It could be a recent update. Anyway, I tried the steps in the link you provided and it worked.

    Thanks,
    doubleout

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Macro stopped working after enabling Excel Add Ins?

    Thanks for the help.

  10. #10
    MrExcel MVP Jonmo1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Bryan, TX
    Posts
    42,556

    Default Re: Macro stopped working after enabling Excel Add Ins?

    You're welcome.
    Add-in for posting ranges as copyable tables (bottom of the page) -Win & Mac

    The more we learn, and the better we get at our trade, the easier it becomes to overlook the obvious.

    Life moves pretty fast. If you don't stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.
    Ferris Bueller A.K.A. John Hughes, 1986

Tags for this Thread

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


DMCA.com