2 macro questions

stipsoff

Hello to all,
I'm new to the usage of excel and I have 2 questions for anyone who is kind enough to anwser them and pls give me an example for solving my problem.

1. How can I count the number of sheet in one file?
2. How can I import data from other excel files?

PS. Could anyone suggest a good book, tutorial or something else about macros or/and similar topics?

Tnx

Excel Facts

Formula for Yesterday
Name Manager, New Name. Yesterday =TODAY()-1. OK. Then, use =YESTERDAY in any cell. Tomorrow could be =TODAY()+1.
Code:
public function no_of_worksheets() as long
no_of_worksheets = thisworkbook.sheets.count
end function

for the first part. the second one you need to be more specify.

A book - I can't remember the one that I had. I actually gained more by answering questions from this board, getting it wrong and learning. thanks

Kaps

Upvote 0
Tnx for the anwser Kaps.
As for my second question, to specify it my situation is the following:
I've got another excel file from which I need to import into my current one a few numbers. Let's say it's B12, C4 and E7. Now how do I connect to that file and pull out those values into my current file?

Upvote 0
Tnx for the anwser Kaps.
As for my second question, to specify it my situation is the following:
I've got another excel file from which I need to import into my current one a few numbers. Let's say it's B12, C4 and E7. Now how do I connect to that file and pull out those values into my current file?
Depends a bit on your situation but you can directly link to another workbook by entering in the formula:
Code:
='[other workbook.xls]sheet name'!$B$!"
If you are talking about larger amounts of data a macro can be used.

Upvote 0
In the meantime I've got a few things done but I also got a few more things I have to implement. So the situation right now is the following:
-I've got some reports with the names a200906, a200907 and a200908