auto highlight columns based on day of the week

lakke2120

Hello,
I have a problem that I have not been able to find any help on. I have spreadsheets that has 31 columns to account for each day of the every month. Each column has about 17 rows in them. I would like to be able to enter a specific day or range of days such as monday thru Friday, or Wednesday and Saturday, or even one day, etc. and have them highlighted a certain shade of gray so that my students know which days they have to do a particular task. I have to do this several dozen times a day, for months in advance, so I end up having to look up each month to identify which days I need to highlight and then manually do it. It would be great to have a tool or box on the side of the each spreadsheet where I can enter the day(s) of the week I need highlighted for any particular month and have the columns highlighted automatically. I am a teacher and it takes hours each week just to do this. I figured its a difficult thing to do which is why non of my colleagues have been able to find help on this. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Excel Facts

Format cells as date
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+3 to format cells as date. (Shift 3 is the # sign which sort of looks like a small calendar).
Hi,

It sounds "doable". I think the spec might need some work, though.

You have many worksheets with one month per worksheet.
When you enter, say, "MO" do you want every Monday on every worksheet to turn grey? Or is there an implied date range somewhere?

Upvote 0
You can do this with Conditional Formatting.
Since you didn't provide sample data, I'm going to assume you have a worksheet with dates (eg: Jan 1, 2015, Jan 2, 2015, etc) entered in B2:AF2 and data is enter below them thru, say, row 30.

First, on a blank sheet (tab) within that workbook, change the tab name to "days" (without the quotes).
Now on your worksheet with the dates in B2:AF2,
1. Select B2:AF30