Automatically generating duplicate workbooks renamed with incremental dates

K80flo

Hi, I'm used to basic Excel usuage but I'm trying to do nothing which I know is possible but I just can't work out how to do it.
Please can someone help.....:confused:

I have a Master Copy Template Workbook with a date in A1 I want to automatically generate identical sequential editable workbooks BUT with a new date for each..
i.e. 1st Workbook NAMED 01.04.2018 with the date also in A1 the next NAMED 02.04.2018 with the date in A1. etc:

All the cells in the workbook relate to data input for activity for that day. A workbook needs to be kept for each day for audit purposes. The workbook has been designed to be simple to use as multiple non IT savvy people will access to input their data into specific cells & save.
There needs to be a new workbook generated for each day as it is a log of activity for that day.

Please help
Thanks

Excel Facts

Best way to learn Power Query?
Read M is for (Data) Monkey book by Ken Puls and Miguel Escobar. It is the complete guide to Power Query.
Hi K80flo and Welcome to the Board! Give this a trial. HTH. Dave
Code:
Sub CopyDateFile()
Dim Ofsobj As Object, NowStr As String
Set Ofsobj = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
NowStr = Format(Now, "yyyy/mm/dd")
ThisWorkbook.Sheets("sheet1").Range("A" & 1) = NowStr
Ofsobj.CopyFile ThisWorkbook.FullName, Left(ThisWorkbook.FullName, _
   Len(ThisWorkbook.FullName) - 5) & "_" & NowStr & ".xlsm", True  'source,destination,save
Set Ofsobj = Nothing
End Sub

Upvote 0
Hi K80flo and Welcome to the Board! Give this a trial. HTH. Dave
Code:
Sub CopyDateFile()
NowStr = Format(Now, "yyyy/mm/dd")
   Len(ThisWorkbook.FullName) - 5) & "_" & NowStr & ".xlsm", True  'source,destination,save
Set Ofsobj = Nothing
End Sub

Good evening!

Could I also pick your knowledge please?