Automatically move a row to another sheet based on cell value

mossi8

Hi there.

Complete VBA and Macro novice here and I have trawled the internet trying to find a solution.

I have a basic spreadsheet with 2 sheets, titled 'Active' and 'Complete'.

In Sheet 1 (Active) I have data in columns A - I. Column I shows a status as either Active or Complete.

I want my spreadsheet to automatically cut and paste 'complete' rows into sheet 2 (Complete). Deleting the data from the original sheet.

Ideally, I would like this to happen automatically when a row is marked as 'Complete' and not have to have a button to click each time I want to update.

Please help!

You said in post 3:
When the status (Col G) changes to "Completed"

In post 8 you said:
Can I please move three rows when the status changes to "Closed",

So I'm getting confused here.

Is it closed or completed

Upvote 0

Excel Facts

Excel motto
Not everything I do at work revolves around Excel. Only the fun parts.
Try this:
This is an auto sheet event script
Your Workbook must be Macro enabled
To install this code:
Right-click on the sheet tab named Active
Select View Code from the pop-up context menu
Paste the code in the VBA edit window

Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
'Modified  6/20/2019  4:18:03 AM  EDT
If Target.Cells.CountLarge > 1 Or IsEmpty(Target) Then Exit Sub
If Target.Column = 9 Then
Dim Lastrow As Long
Lastrow = Sheets("Completed").Cells(Rows.Count, 9).End(xlUp).Row + 1
Dim ans As Long
ans = Target.Row
If Target.Value = "Completed" Then
    Rows(ans).Copy Sheets("Completed").Rows(Lastrow)
    Rows(ans).Delete
End If

End If
End Sub