seaottr

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi there,

I'm having trouble calculating the values of two fields in my pivot table using Calculated Field. The value field settings is being displayed as % of row total. The Column labels (Detractor, Passive and Promoter) are taken from the field called "NPS2". I'm trying to get the pivot to display the following results (Promoter - Detractor). I've tried a whole bunch of things after looking through countless forums. I'm new to pivot tables and the Calculated Field dialogue. According to other forums, I should just be able to enter "= ('Promoter'-'Detractor')" or "= (Promoter - Detractor)" in the Calculate Field formula, but that doesn't work. Here's the data in the pivot.
Row LabelsDetractorPassivePromoterGrand Total
7/4/20160.00%50.00%50.00%100.00%
7/5/201614.29%28.57%57.14%100.00%
7/6/201650.00%50.00%0.00%100.00%

<tbody>
</tbody><colgroup><col><col><col><col><col></colgroup>

Can anybody help please?

Excel Facts

Last used cell?
Press Ctrl+End to move to what Excel thinks is the last used cell.
Did you try using the "Difference From" function in the "Show Values As" calculation?

Otherwise, I don't believe PivotTables are your solution. The PivotTable does a good job of representing data that you have. If you then want to do more manipulation, you have to do it manually.

Upvote 0
Unfortunately that doesn't fix it.

The problem with doing it manually won't allow it to be dynamic based on the user's selections. The calculation/formula output is based on the values for a specific date range selected.

Did you try using the "Difference From" function in the "Show Values As" calculation?

Otherwise, I don't believe PivotTables are your solution. The PivotTable does a good job of representing data that you have. If you then want to do more manipulation, you have to do it manually.

Upvote 0