Cell with 2 names in it causing error in formula

Gambit79

Hi
I have a master data spreadsheet that contains multiple columns including one with the name of a resource. generally most of the cells in this column contain only one name. however some of the cells contain 2 names for example "Joe Blogs / Jane Blogs". they all contain the same format.
on another sheet i have a formula that looks for the names in this column and then counts them based on multiple criteria. however that formula is skipping the cells that contain 2 names, which stuffs up the end result in terms of data accuracy.

is there a way in my formula to look for the name and still find it in the cells where there is 2 names? as I still want to count everytime "Joe Blogs" appears for example, and separately count all the Jane Blogs ones as well.

thanks

Excel Facts

Which came first: VisiCalc or Lotus 1-2-3?
Dan Bricklin and Bob Frankston debuted VisiCalc in 1979 as a Visible Calculator. Lotus 1-2-3 debuted in the early 1980's, from Mitch Kapor.
on another sheet i have a formula that looks for the names in this column and then counts them based on multiple criteria.
Can you post that formula?

BTW, I suggest that you update your Account details (click your user name at the top right of the forum) so helpers always know what Excel version(s) & platform(s) you are using as the best solution often varies by version. (Don’t forget to scroll down & ‘Save’)

Upvote 0
Hi Peter

the formula is:
=COUNTIFS(Table2[Solution CSM],[@Resource],Table2[Real Classification],'Formula ref sheet'!$B$4,Table2[Solution],'Formula ref sheet'!$C$11)+COUNTIFS(Table2[Solution CSM],[@Resource],Table2[Real Classification],'Formula ref sheet'!$B$4,Table2[Solution],'Formula ref sheet'!$C$8)

Some Notes:
  • Table2 = the master data spreadsheet
  • Solution CSM = the column that contains the names (sometimes has the two names)
  • @resource = the name I am trying to find in the formula