Comparing character strings in separate cells in Excel spreadsheets?

baigfine23

I am new to Excel VBA or Macro,I have the following Excel problem: Need Macro to do the job
I have a large excel spreadsheet with alpha-numeric data. I want to be able to compare two cells in different row side by side and return the difference in another cell.
e.g. I have in cell B2, "tom, rick, mike, I" and in cell C2, "mike, rick". I need to compare the cell C2 to cell B2 and return the difference in cell D2 which in this case would be the characters " tom, I". They are separated with "," and they can be in different order as you can see in the example.
Thanking you in advance.

Excel Facts

Copy a format multiple times
Select a formatted range. Double-click the Format Painter (left side of Home tab). You can paste formatting multiple times. Esc to stop
Insert a module into the workbook in the VBA editor and add this code. You can then use CSVDIFF as a formula.

Code:
Public Function CSVDIFF(Compare1 As String, Compare2 As String)
Dim arr1
Dim sResult As String
Dim i As Integer
arr1 = Split(Compare1, ",")
For i = LBound(arr1) To UBound(arr1)
    If Not InStr(Compare2, Trim(arr1(i))) > 0 Then
        sResult = sResult & arr1(i) & ","
    End If
Next i
CSVDIFF = Left(sResult, Len(sResult) - 1)
End Function

Upvote 0
I am new to Excel VBA or Macro,I have the following Excel problem: Need Macro to do the job
I have a large excel spreadsheet with alpha-numeric data. I want to be able to compare two cells in different row side by side and return the difference in another cell.
e.g. I have in cell B2, "tom, rick, mike, I" and in cell C2, "mike, rick". I need to compare the cell C2 to cell B2 and return the difference in cell D2 which in this case would be the characters " tom, I". They are separated with "," and they can be in different order as you can see in the example.
Thanking you in advance.