Copy conditional formatting with referance cells

pete4monc

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi all

I have a problem which I have been trying to solve for two days now. I've even started to write a macro to try to solve it, with no luck (I'm new to vba).
I don't know if this is the right section to post this, about conditional formatting referancing certain cells and then copying it down to other cells in the same column.
Todays date in C1.
Starting date in G4
Completion date in H4
Alert days in H1 (ie number of days "2" to trigger the conditional format and that will turn H4 cell red.

My formula in conditional formatting is (and it works in the first cell H4)
=($C$1-G4)>$H$1

I would like to copy the conditional formatting down from H4 to approx H1000 but when I "format painter" the conditional format will only copy correctly to the first cell ie H5 and then after is will say
=($C$1-G5)>$H$1 throughout all the cells I copy it to??

I hope I have explained it well enough so all can understand and someone could help?

Mega thanks
Pete

Excel Facts

Ambidextrous Undo
Undo last command with Ctrl+Z or Alt+Backspace. If you use the Undo icon in the QAT, open the drop-down arrow to undo up to 100 steps.
I would like to copy the conditional formatting down from H4 to approx H1000 but when I "format painter" the conditional format will only copy correctly to the first cell ie H5 and then after is will say
=($C$1-G5)>$H$1 throughout all the cells I copy it to??
Don't be fooled! Excel is probably doing it correctly, even though it looks a little funny.