Copy down formula to last row - VBA for BEGINNER

mstod

Hello all,

I am a beginner (with a capital B) to macros and VBA. I am recording a macro and trying to insert an IF formula into F2, and then fill the formula down to the last row of data. I think I can use Column A to determine my last row. I've read a few threads about this, but need help understanding how to insert the code into my macro. Can someone help?

The formula I'm using is =IF(F2>0, "YES", ""), where if the value in F2 is greater than 0, it should change to text "YES" or stay blank if the condition is not met.

Thank you!

Excel Facts

Square and cube roots
The =SQRT(25) is a square root. For a cube root, use =125^(1/3). For a fourth root, use =625^(1/4).
Perhaps something like this.
Code:
Dim LastRow As Long

LastRow = Range("A" & Rows.Count).End(xlUp).Row

Range("G2:G" & LastRow).Formula = "=F2>0, ""YES"", """")"
Note I've used column G for the formula as if you put it in column F it would create a whole bunch of circular references.

Upvote 0
Hello all,

I am a beginner (with a capital B) to macros and VBA. I am recording a macro and trying to insert an IF formula into F2, and then fill the formula down to the last row of data. I think I can use Column A to determine my last row. I've read a few threads about this, but need help understanding how to insert the code into my macro. Can someone help?

The formula I'm using is =IF(F2>0, "YES", ""), where if the value in F2 is greater than 0, it should change to text "YES" or stay blank if the condition is not met.

Thank you!
If you put that formula in F2, it will create a circular reference. Where do you actually want to put that formula? Say you want it in G2, then you don't need to fill down, you can insert the formula in all relevant cells like this:
Code:
Range("G2:G" & Cells(rows.count,"F").end(xlup).Row).Formula = "=IF(F2>0, ""YES"", """")"

Upvote 0