Counting Cells with Conditional Formatting

jbanks

Office Version
  1. 365
Hi

I have read various threads regarding this but due to a lack of VBA knowledge I get lost in them! Therefore, I'm hoping by explaining my situation, it may make more sense to me -
So here goes!

I work as a teacher and my role is the analysis of data, something I can do fairly easily using my Excel knowledge but I want to take it a step further (maybe this isn't the best was and another suggestion would be great.

The spreadsheets I use have 400 students in columns A (first name) and B (last name), in columns C to AC I have the students targets for the 26 subjects/courses we offer, a student would only study between 10 and 14 of these so in a row there would be blanks. In cells AE to BE I have the students current grades (those which show current situation/progress). The first student would be in ROW 2.

I want to show whether a student is below, equal to or exceeding their target and have done this using Conditional Formatting (3 separate conditions) using RED for below, White for Equal to and Green for Exceeding.

I now want to count how many of each colour there are to quickly work out how many of the subjects the students are falling behind in so we can focus our efforts on these.

Any help would be great (please keep it straightforward) and if you can link it to my cell references that'd be even better!

I can supply an exert if this would make it easier!

Thanks ever so much for any suggestions (of this isn't the best way!) or any specific help!

A. Teacher!

Excel Facts

Format cells as time
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+2 to format cells as time. (Shift 2 is the @ sign).
The easiest way is to use a COUNTIF formula using the same criteria that you applied for your CFs.

Upvote 0
Thanks for your reply!