create a custom date range based on user efficiency

asmith601

Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi guys. I am in search of some ideas. My spreadsheet works fine as it is, so i am in continuous improvement mode with it.

I am a teacher who gives students date ranges to finish projects. An example would be assignment 1 started on 2-14-2018 and not due until 3-10-2018; the next project starting on 3-11-2018 and not due until 4-20-2018.

If a student starts assignment 1 on 2-14-2018 but finishes on 2-23-2018; the student completed the assignment in half the time allotted, how can that percentage be towards future assignments? auto-calculate a more individualized assignment schedule based on how fast they complete assignments.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:

Excel Facts

How to change case of text in Excel?
Use =UPPER() for upper case, =LOWER() for lower case, and =PROPER() for proper case. PROPER won't capitalize second c in Mccartney
Sorry, I had to. I hope you're not a math teacher because I'm about to do your math for you and I'm not going to show my work...

The only thing you need to know is "Dates in Excel are numbers"

A. Due date
B. Assigned
C. Completed
D. Number of days given = A - B
E. Number of days it actually took = A - C
F. Percentage of days used = D / E

Number of days to complete:Number of days it took:Percentage:
Due Date:3/10/201824150.625
Assigned2/14/2018
Completed2/23/2018

<tbody>
</tbody>

Upvote 0
Funny. Actually here is the solution i have come up with:

=IF(J11="","",IF(K3="",NOW(),K3))

Automatically puts in the date when the assignment is turned in, so i can make the calculations to get what i am looking for already. I am simply looking for opinions/suggestions/alternatives.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Alternatives to what? Now that you have your percentage of time it took what are you going to do with it? Is your goal to give students a variable time limit based on past performance? (I think that is a bad idea)

Upvote 0