create an unmatched query based on the date

EileenJohn

Board Regular
Hi, I'm still new to Microsoft access. I'm trying to create a database monitor students attendance. I have 2 sheet.
Sheet 1 (keep the student list): student id, student name, address class name
sheet 2 (keep the student attendance record): date, student id, student,name, class name
I try to create a query to "find no. of students that did not attend the class based on the date".
I did try to create a query using unmatched wizard but it didn't give me the result that I want.
Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

Excel Facts

Excel Can Read to You
Customize Quick Access Toolbar. From All Commands, add Speak Cells or Speak Cells on Enter to QAT. Select cells. Press Speak Cells.
Can you post the SQL Code of the query you came up with that isn't working? That will give us an idea of how you have named your objects, and allow us to give you code that may more closely resemble your structure. You can just switch your query to SQL View and copy and paste it here.

Also, can students be registered for more than one class?
If so, then you probably have students listed more than once in your first table, which really is not a normalized database structure. Your student table should have each student listed exactly once. You would then have a separate table for which classes they are registered in (student id, class id). You would probably also have a separate table for classes which includes class id and class name.

So, these counts you are trying to get, are you trying to get them for each class?

Upvote 0
Yes ,for each class if possible. For eg: In math class, 68 students registered.
(Student id, student name)
then I also have weekly attendance sheet ( date, student id , student name )
so I linked the 2 sheets to access and using query wizard to find unmatched query.
Every week I need to check on this date, how many students DID NOT come to class.
sql: