Custom controls not showing in Add-ins ribbon tab and XML error

Shneuph

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2013
Messages
7
Hello..

This is my first time posting a question so I'm sorry if I don't follow protocol exactly. I'll try.
We are using Windows7 with Excel 2007. We have old code from excel 2003 and earlier that was adding a msoControlPopup with other sub-controls using the code below:
Code:
    Set HelpMenu = CommandBars(1).FindControl(Id:=30010)
    
    If HelpMenu Is Nothing Then
'       Add the menu to the end
        Set AirFlowMenu = CommandBars(1).Controls.Add _
          (Type:=msoControlPopup, temporary:=True)
    Else
'      Add the menu before Help
        Set AirFlowMenu = CommandBars(1).Controls.Add _
          (Type:=msoControlPopup, Before:=HelpMenu.Index, temporary:=True)
    End If

'   Add a caption for the menu
    AirFlowMenu.Caption = "&Air Circulation"
    
'   FIRST MENU ITEM A
    Set MenuItem = AirFlowMenu.Controls.Add _
      (Type:=msoControlButton)
    With MenuItem
        .Caption = "&Save Air Circulation"
        .ShortcutText = "Ctrl+Shift+S"
        .FaceId = 3
        .OnAction = "SaveFileAsDir"
    End With
etc...

It still works in Excel 2007 and adds a pulldown in the Add-ins ribbon tab. However, randomly yesterday it stopped showing up in only MY add-ins ribbon tab. It still shows in other users ribbons. Now, I also checked the box in Excel Options>Advanced>Show Add-in user interface errors and when I have that checked I get this error when Excel opens:

msgbox title "Custom UI Runtime Error in Send to Bluetooth"
msgbox content:
Error found in Custom UI XML of "Send to Bluetooth":

Line:1
Column:199
Error Code 0xC00CEE21
Whitespace expected

buttons: OK, OK to All

(sorry, IDK if I can attach an image of that msgbox)

I tried going to Excel Options>Customize>Reset to reset any customizations to the quick access toolbar as this was recommended by something else I found online. This did not fix the problem.

I can find the control in the Immediate window but it just isn't showing in the add-ins tab.
Any suggestions? Does anyone know if I can find and repair that XML file perhaps?
Thank you.
 

Some videos you may like

Excel Facts

Select a hidden cell
Somehide hide payroll data in column G? Press F5. Type G1. Enter. Look in formula bar while you arrow down through G.

sijpie

Well-known Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,573
Can you make a macro to just unload the menu from the Add-in? perhaps for some perverse reason it didn't unload properly last time you closed it, which now prevents it from loading a second copy
 

RoryA

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
34,686
Office Version
365, 2019, 2016, 2010
Platform
Windows, MacOS
Your code doesn't seem to have anything to do with the error message. What other add-ins do you have loaded?
 

Shneuph

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2013
Messages
7
I have the following COM add-ins enabled:
1) Acrobat PDFMaker Office COM Addin
2) BluebeamOfficeAddIn
3) Send to Bluetooth

The error message seems to be caused by the send to bluetooth addin. I've tried disabling it and enabling it again and it doesn't fix the problem.
 

RoryA

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
34,686
Office Version
365, 2019, 2016, 2010
Platform
Windows, MacOS
I wouldn't expect that to fix anything. I think you'll probably need to disable it.
 

Shneuph

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2013
Messages
7
Thanks for your help Rory.. I've disabled all COM addins. Now the addins tab on the ribbon doesn't even show up. I can see my custom control with commandbars(1).controls(10).caption but it doesn't show in the addins tab. (like I said.. the tab doesn't even show) I think there is a problem with the ribbon xml file (as the error message indicates) and therefore my controls do not show in the Ribbon. I don't know where the xml file is or how to fix it though. Any ideas on how to check/fix that?
 

RoryA

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
34,686
Office Version
365, 2019, 2016, 2010
Platform
Windows, MacOS
I can see my custom control with commandbars(1).controls(10).caption but it doesn't show in the addins tab. (like I said.. the tab doesn't even show)
What do you mean by that - where can you see the control?
 

Shneuph

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2013
Messages
7
I just mean the control exists (it has been added to commandbars(1) ). However, I can't see the controls visually anywhere in the GUI. It is not automatically showing up in the addins tab like it has in the past.
 

RoryA

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
34,686
Office Version
365, 2019, 2016, 2010
Platform
Windows, MacOS
Have you thought about reworking the workbook to use the Ribbon properly?
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,089,207
Messages
5,406,844
Members
403,109
Latest member
gamer527

This Week's Hot Topics

Top