Dividing the input value with another cell

anajm88

Hello,

I'm teacher trying to use Excel as a grade-book. I would like to be able to enter an input in a cell (the number of points earned) and have that divided by a constant value (the number of possible points) to be turned into a percentage. My self-attempts have resulted in what excel calls "circular reference".

More detail:

Cell D4 has the number of possible points, a homework assignment with 16 problems.
Cell D6 will be the input cell. If the student got 15 problems correct, i will input 15, but the cell will calculate the percentage of 15/16.

I'm a novice user. I would sincerely appreciate a broken-down answer.

Thank you!

Excel Facts

Highlight Duplicates
Home, Conditional Formatting, Highlight Cells, Duplicate records, OK to add pink formatting to any duplicates in selected range.
Hello,

I'm teacher trying to use Excel as a grade-book. I would like to be able to enter an input in a cell (the number of points earned) and have that divided by a constant value (the number of possible points) to be turned into a percentage. My self-attempts have resulted in what excel calls "circular reference".

More detail:

Cell D4 has the number of possible points, a homework assignment with 16 problems.
Cell D6 will be the input cell. If the student got 15 problems correct, i will input 15, but the cell will calculate the percentage of 15/16.

I'm a novice user. I would sincerely appreciate a broken-down answer.

Thank you!
You just need to put the formula in a different cell.

D4 = 16
D6 = 15

Then, enter this formula in some other cell like D7:

=IF(COUNT(D4,D6)<2,"",D6/D4)

Format as Percentage

Upvote 0
Try this to get the principle of how it is done.

Enter the total number of questions in cell A2 of a blank worksheet.

Skip to Column C and enter this formula:

If(b2 <> "",b2/$a$2,"")