Editing of separate Table, which determines Value in originally selected cell

penzed

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello everyone!

I want to apologize in advance if my language is not the most correct or if I am unable to explain what I wish to do in the best way, as I am a beginner at using Excel.

I have attempted many google searches using different wording but unfortunately without success.

Here is a rough explanation of what I wish to do:
  1. Select a cell;
  2. This cell is linked to a separate table that, after data input, results in Average;
  3. Average then displays on originally selected cell;
  4. Repeat this for desired number of cells.

To make this clearer, here is a visual guide:

1691794589062.png

I know I could do this by creating a separate table for each cell in a different sheet and have each of those little tables' Average display back in the main sheet, but I wanted to push myself out of my comfort zone with this project. I would love to be able to execute this only having ONE "Rating" table.

My friend mentioned this could be done using Visual Basic and I have now started looking at beginner's guides but I would love to know your opinions. I'm open to alternative ways to achieve this or something similar.

Thanks in advance!

Excel Facts

How can you turn a range sideways?
Copy the range. Select a blank cell. Right-click, Paste Special, then choose Transpose.
It appears to me that you have a rating set of data for each track on an album. Why not just add these columns to the right of the album tracks (including your average)?

You could do a VBA pop-up form to edit your rating entries and calculate the avg, but store it all in one Excel record (row).

Upvote 0
Solution
It appears to me that you have a rating set of data for each track on an album. Why not just add these columns to the right of the album tracks (including your average)?