Excel Algebra help

Paykempton

Hello all, I need to create an excel spreadsheet that can solve a system of linear equations by only entering the a, b, c, d, e, and f of:

ax + by = c
dx + ey = f

I am a rookie at excel and algebra. So when explaining on how to do this please treat me as such. I need to know exactly what formulas to enter in what locations.

I appreciate any and all help I can get.
Thank you

Excel Facts

Which lookup functions find a value equal or greater than the lookup value?
MATCH uses -1 to find larger value (lookup table must be sorted ZA). XLOOKUP uses 1 to find values greater and does not need to be sorted.
If you put a in A1, b in B1, C in D1 , d in A2, e in B2 and f in D2,

Then select two rows and one column and enter the array formula
=MMULT(MINVERSE(A1:B4),D1:D2) with Ctrl-Shift-Enter (Cmd+Return for Mac) the values for x and y will be returned

<table border=1 cellspacing=0>
<tr align="center" bgcolor=#A0A0A0><td width=25> <td width=25><b>A</b><td width=25><b>B</b><td width=25><b>C</b><td width=25><b>D</b><td width=25><b>E</b><td width=25><b>F</b></tr>
<tr><td align="center" bgcolor=#A0A0A0><b>1</b><td align="right" bgcolor=#FFFFFF>1<td align="right" bgcolor=#FFFFFF>2<td align="left" bgcolor=#FFFFFF><td align="right" bgcolor=#FFFFFF>5<td align="left" bgcolor=#FFFFFF><td align="right" bgcolor=#FFFFFF>1</tr>
<tr><td align="center" bgcolor=#A0A0A0><b>2</b><td align="right" bgcolor=#FFFFFF>3<td align="right" bgcolor=#FFFFFF>4<td align="left" bgcolor=#FFFFFF><td align="right" bgcolor=#FFFFFF>11<td align="left" bgcolor=#FFFFFF><td align="right" bgcolor=#FFFFFF>2</tr>
</table>

Upvote 0
Hello all, I need to create an excel spreadsheet that can solve a system of linear equations by only entering the a, b, c, d, e, and f of:

ax + by = c
dx + ey = f

I am a rookie at excel and algebra. So when explaining on how to do this please treat me as such. I need to know exactly what formulas to enter in what locations.