Excel NOOB - Auto Populating Cells Across Worksheets

Rigwald

Hello!

I am a teacher who uses Moodle (an online LMS - Learning Management System). I have two Excel files that use macros to make Moodle XML files for importing questions into Moodle. I combined the two files into one, with various worksheets for either Short Answer creation, Multiple Choice creation, Glossary Entry creation, etc.... Here's my dilemma:

In an attempt to cut down on the number of repetitive steps, I'd like to link columns on two sheets to self populate when text is entered in columns on a third sheet. Since the columns are different between sheets, I found a how-to online that showed a simple way to do it (using arrays: ='WORKSHEETNAME'!RANGE:RANGE then control+_shift+enter). While that worked, the issue I have is that the number of questions varies from time to time, so setting a range, where the empty cells populate as "0" on the linked worksheets, doesn't work. Those populated "0" get exported as actual questions and glossary entries. Is there a way that blank cells don't populate with "0" on the other sheets?

Here's a link to the file I'm working with.

On a second note. Is there a way to automatically remove spaces from within an entry. For example, if an item says "Communist State" is there a way to remove the space to make "CommunistState"?

Thanks in advance. I though I had it licked with the array stuff, but it just made a new issue.

Here's the process we go through, in case it will help you understand why we are trying to remove the repetitive copying:

Workflow 1: