Excel VLOOKUP based on Cell

HNarli

Hello,

I am trying to do a lookup based on a variable file name which I'd like to fetch from cell I2. I am very new to complex excel formula so am hoping someone can tell me exactly what I need to do to make this work! I've tried looking around other peoples posts on this and adapt it but get back #REF ! every time :( I think I am missing something so if someone could please just type the exact string for me I'd be so grateful! I'm not being lazy, I literally cannot get my head around it, so hoping if I can see it I can understand how to do this...

So, to explain.

I am trying to say look up the discount amount of a supplier based a file for each supplier I have called Supplier_Disc file which can be found: A:\Marketing\Templates (Do Not Move or Delete)\Database\Files

The file name is Supplier_Discount_XXXXX.xlsx

The file path does not change, only the supplier name 'XXXX' in blue which I have stored in cell I2.

Not sure if this is right but in cell I2 i've concatenated the words "Supplier_Discount" &B2 (which in B2 is the supplier name only).

So to clarify

Here is what I have tried so far in case it sheds some light on what I am trying to achieve, but I'm aware I've got it wrong!

=VLOOKUP($D$2,INDIRECT("'A:\Marketing\Templates (Do Not Move or Delete)\Database\Files\["&I2&".xlsx]Sheet1!$A$1:$P$500"),1,0)

Kind regards,

Excel Facts

What is the shortcut key for Format Selection?
Ctrl+1 (the number one) will open the Format dialog for whatever is selected.
Try

Code:
=VLOOKUP($D$2,INDIRECT("'A:\Marketing\Templates (Do Not Move or Delete)\Database\Files\["&I2&".xlsx]Sheet1'!$A$1:$P$500"),1,0)

When using indirect you may find it helpful make the formula without the indirect first so you can see reference you need to create in the indirect.

Code:
=VLOOKUP(D2,'A:\marketing\Templates (Do Not Move or Delete)\Database\Files\[Supplier_Discount_XXXXX.xlsx]Sheet1'!$A$1:$P$500,1,0)