File paths from cells to array for Macro with GrantAccessToMultipleFiles function

jan_d

Hello,

I am completely new to VBA (and to this forum), so my apologies if this is extremely basic. I need to get filepaths from a column in an Excel sheet and turn them into an Array to be used in a Macro to GrantAccessToMultipleFiles.

I am creating a database in a workbook that checks for the existence of files on an external harddrive (about 10.000 files total) with a Macro, and I want to grant excel permission to access these files in advance in order to avoid to have to click thousands of times the annoying Grant Access dialog in Excel 2016 for Mac.

I have dedicated an extra column in the Excel sheet to calculate the filepaths for the files and turn them into text before setting up the macro to check for file existence, and I want to first run the GrantAccessToMultipleFiles command in order to get the access before entering the formula.

I created a Macro with this code from: https://dev.office.com/blogs/VBA-improvements-in-Office-2016

Code:
Sub requestFileAccess()
       Dim fileAccessGranted As Boolean
       Dim filePermissionCandidates
       filePermissionCandidates = Array("/Users/xyz/Desktop/test1.txt", "/Users/xyz/Desktop/test2.txt")
       fileAccessGranted = GrantAccessToMultipleFiles(filePermissionCandidates)
    End Sub
When I test it by substituting the example paths with the paths from the file it does work, but I have no idea how to automatically extract the paths from the column and turn them into an array to be used in the macro.

I tried with

Code:
     filePermissionCandidates = Array(Range("V5:V100"))

and some other combinations based on things found on this and other forums but to no avail. I assume I have to define the Array as a variable beforehand but I have no clue how to go about doing it.

If anyone could point me in the right direction that would be much appreciated.

Thank,

Jan

Excel Facts

Quick Sum