General knowledge on datepicker - 32 bits vs 64 bits compatibility

kelly mort

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2017
Messages
1,632
Office Version
2016
Platform
Windows
So I developed a few problems with datepicker in excel currently then I have to do more reading about that object.What I found was that it does not work well on the 64 bits office versions.When I tried testing it on 64 bits office version, it said it couldn't load the object. Then when I went to design mode, my object (datepicker) was gone. I don't know where it is - it is just not accessible anymore.My question is, right now that the 64 bit failed to load the object, when I close the workbook and reopen it on a 32 bit system, will the object be loaded or it's gone for life?I am asking this question because I deleted the file from which the object was not loaded afterwards. Now, I am running 32 bit office version.Unless I have to reinstall a 64 bit to create the file with the object not loaded before reinstalling 33 bit back again to test for that.Then one last question is:Is it possible to check the office version (32 or 64 bit) on the open event and quickly stop the workbook from loading?That's a way I am thinking of, to prevent the workbook from trying to load the object which later makes it vanishes.All cooler suggestions are accepted.Thanks
 

RoryA

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
34,351
Office Version
365, 2019, 2016, 2010
Platform
Windows, MacOS
If you didn't save the file, it would still work on 32 bits. You cannot code round this problem if the control is present when the workbook opens, so if you need to support 64bit versions, either load the control at run-time, or use/create an alternative.
 

kelly mort

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2017
Messages
1,632
Office Version
2016
Platform
Windows
When you say "load the control at run-time, or use/create an alternative", what does that mean actually?

I am limited in understanding some of the terms you used.
:)
 

RoryA

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
34,351
Office Version
365, 2019, 2016, 2010
Platform
Windows, MacOS
I mean that you either add the control to your userform when it loads, rather than having it already present (will require more coding), or use a totally different approach, such as a separate userform with native MSForms controls to recreate a date picker. There are examples out there on the internet to save you time.
 

kelly mort

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2017
Messages
1,632
Office Version
2016
Platform
Windows
The option 2 seems to be easier per what you just posted, can you get me some links?


My search is not giving me good results
 

kelly mort

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2017
Messages
1,632
Office Version
2016
Platform
Windows
This link is very useful. Just a few test and I like it even more than the excel's datepicker already.:)

One question:

What's that calendar on the first sheet doing there?

Does it have something to offer to the code?

I am now reading through. When I get stucked I will call back here for tech support.

Thanks for the time
 

RoryA

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2008
Messages
34,351
Office Version
365, 2019, 2016, 2010
Platform
Windows, MacOS
I haven't looked at that workbook in detail so I can't say. I'm sure you'll figure it out though. :)
 

kelly mort

Well-known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2017
Messages
1,632
Office Version
2016
Platform
Windows
I haven't looked at that workbook in detail so I can't say. I'm sure you'll figure it out though. :)
Sure, I did figure it out - it is placed there whenever a certain key is pressed with the reset button.

I am trying to adapt it to work for me.

Still reading through the code to understand it better
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,082,360
Messages
5,364,920
Members
400,815
Latest member
Joaquin Phoenix

Some videos you may like

This Week's Hot Topics

  • populate from drop list with multiple tables
    Hi All, i have a drop list that displays data, what i want is when i select one of those from the list to populate text from different tables on...
  • Find list of words from sheet2 in sheet1 before a comma and extract text vba
    Hi Friends, Trying to find the solution on my task. But did not find suitable one to the need. Here is my query and sample file with details...
  • Dynamic Formula entry - VBA code sought
    Hello, really hope one of you experts can help with this - i've spent hours on this and getting no-where. .I have a set of data (more rows than...
  • Listbox Header
    Have a named range called "AccidentsHeader" Within my code I have: [CODE]Private Sub CommandButton1_Click() ListBox1.RowSource =...
  • Complex Heat Map using conditional formatting
    Good day excel world. I have a concern. Below link have a list of countries that carries each country unique data. [URL...
  • Conditional formatting
    Hi good morning, hope you can help me please, I have cells P4:P54 and if this cell is equal to 1 then i want row O to say "Fully Utilised" and to...
Top