How to convert each rows in a spreadsheet into a unique .txt file

villadso

Hi everyone, I'm very much a newbie here.

I have a spreadsheet that contains about 600 rows; in each row contains a great deal of text (several thousand words). I am trying to convert/transfer each rows into a separate text (.txt) file. By way of background, each of these rows contains a presidential speech going back to President Washington. I downloaded each of these speeches into a spreadsheet, and now I need to get the speeches into their own .txt document. My goal is to do some text analysis on the speeches once I have this completed (part of a school assignment). I would be most grateful for any help to make this happen.

Thanks in advance!

Excel Facts

Create a chart in one keystroke
Select the data and press Alt+F1 to insert a default chart. You can change the default chart to any chart type
Welcome to the Board!

What do you want to use as a naming convention? Is there a certain column that contains text that could be used?

Upvote 0
Thanks! Good question, thanks Smitty. I do not have a separate column to name each file. I would prefer to use the number of each row in the name for each file e.g. Row 1, Row 2, etc. Thanks!

Upvote 0
Hmmm, that could be problematic in that you'll never know which speech relates to which file.

Upvote 0
Hi, thanks - I should have mentioned, I plan to organize the rows (i.e. each speech) in time order (e.g. so Row 1 is from Washington and Row 625 is from Obama). When I run do the text analysis (topic modeling), that will help me to visualize the results in time order. That said, I also had been thinking of creating a separate column with the speech date and using that as the name of the .txt file, which should get allow me to do the same analysis. So, I guess I can go either way - using a separate column e.g. column B, or using the row number. Thanks for your help!

Upvote 0

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member
biglake87